Postseason Links: 10/4/10

The Yankees will begin their postseaon this Wednesday in Minnesota. Today is only Monday. What will we do during this period of no baseball? Don’t worry, the internet should keep us busy. Here’s a few links to check out.

  • Frankie Piliere compiled great scouting reports on each playoff team. Here’s the link for the Twins, and here’s the Yankees.
  • Joe Pawlikowski of River Ave Blues discussed how the Yankees are not the only team stumbling into the playoffs.
  • Chad Jennings gives his take on what he thinks the playoff roster should be for the Yankees. I agree with him.
  • In a surprising move, the Mets let go of both GM Omar Minaya and manager Jerry Manuel.
  • One of the more prominent discussions about the Yankees postseason is over who will start game two. Will it be Andy Pettitte or Phil Hughes? My vote is for Hughes. I could explain my reasons, but Rebecca of This Purist Bleeds Pinstripes did a much better job than I would have done. While you’re there you can also read the rest of her thoughts on the postseason.

I don’t know what to make of this.

4 thoughts on “Postseason Links: 10/4/10

  1. Andy Pettitte is pitching game 2 Chris. Phil Hughes is pitching game 3 in a three man rotation. I guess Joe Girardi trust Andy Pettitte and the vet doing the job on the road.

    • Yup, I heard. I don’t have a problem with the decision. I still believe Hughes would have been a better choice, simply because of the home/road aspect, but it’s okay. The roster isn’t exactly as I would have designed it, but I don’t have any problem with it whatsoever.

  2. A.J. Burnett being the long reliever along with Moseley. Sergio Mitre made it. I got no problem with Golson. I hope Kearns sit on the bench because Kearns keep striking outs. Brett Gardner start all the games in leftfield along with Granderson. Understand Marcus Thames being the DH against Francisco Liriano.

    • Yeah, like I said I don’t have any major issues with the roster. Carrying both Moseley and Mitre, seems a little redundant, especially since Burnett is in the bullpen, but oh well. If Gardner doesn’t’ start every game, then I will be truly upset. Keep Mr. “K” Austin Kearns on the bench.

Leave a Reply

