A-Rod leads Yankees to 8-4 Victory

After losing four out of their last five games, The Yankees defeated The Minnesota Twins tonight with the help of Alex Rodriguez. Let’s break it down…

Pitching

Allan James Burnett started tonight for the Yankees and he went 6.2 innings while only allowing 3 runs (2 earned). He wasn’t great as he walked 4 batters and only struck out 4 batters, but he held the damage to a minimum. Damaso Marte followed Burnett with two outs in the 7th inning, and with the Yankees leading 3-2 Marte gave up an RBI single to Joe Mauer and an RBI double to Justin Morneau. Marte did manage to escape the 7th inning, however. Joba Chamberlain came in to pitch the eight with the Yankees leading 7-4 and he struck out the side. PitchFX clocked Joba’s fastball in at an average of 95 MPH tonight with the high at 96, for those of you wondering. Chamberlain was awarded the winning pitcher for his effort. In the ninth, some guy named Mariano Rivera pitched a 1-2-3 inning and that was the end of the story.

Hitting

The Yankees offense had been kind of stagnant lately, but it seemed to awaken tonight. In the bottom of the 4th, with the Yankees down 1-0, Brett Gardner hit a solo home run. Later in the inning Robinson Cano doubled to score Mark Teixeira. In the bottom of the fifth Mark Teixeira doubled to score Brett Gardner. Then the big blow came in the bottom of the seventh when Alex Rodriguez came up to the plate with the bases loaded and The Twins leading 4-3. On the second pitch of the at bat Matt Guerrier gave Alex a pitch to hit and A-Rod took advantage of it depositing it into left field for a grand slam. The Yankees then led 7-4 and would never look back, but Francisco Cervelli tripled in the eight to score Juan Miranda just for fun.

Here's one of those cool Win Probability graphs for you.

Swisher ailing

Nick Swisher left today’s game with a strain in his left biceps which has been bothering him lately. fortunately, according to Chad Jennings the MRI came back negative.

New Look

So, as you can see 161st Street looks a little different, haha! This design obviously isn’t set in stone, I just didn’t feel like working on it anymore today, so please any suggestions to make it better would be great. By the way, I’ve noticed that depending on the size of your computer screen you may or may not see the full background image. Larger screens will display the blue background with pinstripes running down it, smaller screens will only display the blue background (because the pinstripes are cut off). Either way, let me know what you think about it.

9 thoughts on “A-Rod leads Yankees to 8-4 Victory

  1. Chris as always you know I love those charts because I like looking at different sides of baseball other than simply what goes on on the field. I like looking at the business and statistical analysis part like you do. I also like you doing the post game post like I do. I won’t say it’s jockin’ what I do because it is very different. But I do like the new blog it will take a little getting used to but I do like it. I will make sure to shout out the new and improved 161st Street when I am actually on 161st Street tomorrow. HaHa talk to you later Chris and have a nice night. Oh wait it’s morning. It’s 1:17 am. I gotta get some sleep I gotta get on that number 4 train soon.

    • I’m glad you like the chart, it’s just another way to look at the game and while it’s not perfect it does have some meaning to it. About the game recap, this may not be a regular occurrence, I just did it because I didn’t do a game post before the game. Regarding the new design, nothing is set it stone, I’m open to change anything so any suggestions will be considered. Have fun at the game today Andy Pettitte is pitching so that should be cool, but if Thames play left field I recommend looking away when anything is hit to him.

  2. Cool design! Let go Yankees! The Yankees won 11 straight over the Minnesota Twins including the postseason from last season. I know the Yankees are good. But the Twins are only 3-24 at Yankee Stadium during the Ron Gardenhire era. I am stunned to learned that. I will take any win the Yankees get and the Yankees haven’t been home a lot in the 2010 season so far!

    • Wow, I didn’t realize that the Twins have been that bad against the Yankees in the Gardenhire era. That’s incredible. The Twins are a really good team, they are fundamentally sound, and it seems like they always put up a fight against the Yankees. I just can’t believe that record.

      I’m glad you like the design, Steven. Do you have any suggestions? Also, can you see the pinstripes in the background or do you just see a blue background?

  3. I just see a blue background! And I can’t think of anything yet Chris! If I got a suggestion or an Idea I will let you know!

    • Yeah, I understand that but I guess I didn’t acknowledgment that in my comment. It still surprises me that they are that bad at Yankee Stadium in the Gardenhire era.

  4. Pingback: Game 36: Twins at Yankees « 161st Street

Leave a Reply

