Game 46: Yankees at Rangers

Tonight at 8:00 pm Eastern Time, the Yankees will put up the following lineup to face Kevin Millwood:

SS Derek Jeter

LF Johnny Damon

1B Mark Teixeira

3B Alex Rodriguez

2B Robinson Cano

CF Melky Cabrera

DH Hideki Matsui

RF Nick Swisher

C Francisco Cervelli

And on the hill, Joba Chamberlain

 Joba in a suit

Some Lineup Shufflings

Joe Girardi moved Melky all the way up to the sixth spot tonight, while he put Swisher all the way down to the eight hole. Hopefully, Swisher can start hitting soon again.

What to do when Jorge and Molina return?

River Ave Blues has an interesting piece up on the aforementioned question on the catching situation. In my opinion I would really like to see the Yankees keep Cervelli on the team, but I don’t think they can carry 3 catchers for too long, so that would be unfairly harsh to Molina. That’s why Brian Cashman is the GM, and I’m not.

Obama nominates Sotomayor

Normally, anything about politics would not be on this site. However, I felt I should mention this one thing. President Obama has nominated Sonia Sotomayor for the Supreme Court. She is a Puerto Rican who grew up in the Bronx as a lifelong Yankee fan. She is known for saving baseball in 1995 when she ended the strike. “A lifelong Yankees fan, I hope this will not disqualify her in the eyes of the New Englanders in the Senate,” Obama said.

Let’s hope for a good game tonight.

7 thoughts on “Game 46: Yankees at Rangers

  1. The Yankees lost to the Rangers 7-3 yesterday night!! Alfredo Aceves got the lost but Joba Chamberlain only threw four innings yesterday!! That’s the reason I think Joba Chamberlain should be a setup guy because his pitch count get up there too fast or the future closer!!

  2. Luckily I did not watch last night’s game because I am under the weather, and I did not want to risk staying up to 2:00 am to watch the Yankees lose. I am concerned about Melky’s injury, but so for tests have been negative. Joba did not pitch well, but I think Yankee fans are going to have to see some performances like that. He is a young kid adapting to being back in a starting rotation. He is going to struggle, but one day he may be at the top of the league in starting pitchers. It would not make sense to put him in the pen, starters are more valuable that relievers.

  3. I always felt Joba Chamberlain should be a setup guy or closer of the future when Mariano Rivera retired because Joba runs on emotion and adrenaline!! I know starters are more valuable than relievers but some games are mostly decided by the bullpen!! I got more patience with Phil Hughes because he didn’t dominate right away!! Phil Hughes is only 22 years old and still learning on the MLB level!! That’s because Yankees fans are impatient!! The Yankees fans won another World Series title or the 27th this year!! It is already eight or nine years of underperforming by the Yankees in the postseason except for last year which the Yankees failed to make the postseason!!

  4. I like to see Jeter back at SS instead of at DH and I also like seeing Francisco Cervelli behind the dish instead of their only other option at this point Kevin Cash.

  5. Yeah Melky pulled a Joba while Joba was on the mound! Joba was probably like hey WTF? only I can leave the game with an injury in the 1st inning.

Leave a Reply

